Planning and Zoning

The Planning Commission is established by the Board of Aldermen and is composed of seven members, including the Mayor, a member of the Board of Aldermen (selected by the Board of Aldermen), and five citizens of the City of Peculiar; each of the three wards of the City is represented by at least one member. The Commission members serve for four years and vacancies are filled by appointment of the Board of Aldermen.


Regular Planning Commission meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall.  Additional meetings may be scheduled as necessary - all meetings are open to the public.


The mission of the Planning Commission is: to make and adopt a City Plan for the physical development of the City of Peculiar, to prepare a Zoning Plan and to evaluate & recommend  amendments as necessary.  The Planning Commission also serves as the Zoning Commission.


Applications to appear before the Planning Commission may be obtained at City Hall, or this website, and must be submitted to the City Planner at least 10 days prior to the meeting.


Current Planning and Zoning Commissioners:

Ty Erickson- Ward 3
Board Liaison

Term Expires April ,2021

Kristin Smith – Ward 1
Term Expires June 6, 2020
Jim Antonides - Ward 3
Term Expires September 6, 2020
Sharon Shores
Term Expires September 6, 2020

Roger Dougherty - Chairman-Ward 3
Term Expires December 18, 2021

Neil Cox- Ward 3
Term Expires May 1, 2021
Jason Harrison- Ward 3
Phone: 816-215-5977
Term Expires April 16, 2020

Clifford McDonald, City Staff
City Hall – 250 S. Main Street,
Peculiar, MO 64078
Phone: 816-779-2226
Fax: 816-779-1004

      Peculiar MO City Logo
      City of Peculiar | 250 S. Main Street Peculiar, MO 64078  |  Phone: 816-779-5212  |  Fax: 816-779-1004
      Contact Us  |  Site Map   |  Powered by MunicipalCMS
      E-notify RSS Feeds Twitter Facebook